August 27, 2010


The Primetime Emmy is here, coming to us (in India) on August 30, at 5:30am, on Zee Cafe. I intend on waking up for it, so it’ll be an early Sunday night for me this weekend... Here’s a list of what I’m excited about and what I’m not...

I’m not looking forward to the host. After Neil Patrick Harris did such a phenomenal job last year, Jimmy Fallon as the host is not really going down well with me. But let’s see what he brings to the stage. I haven’t seen any of his work on his late night show, so it wouldn’t be fair to write him off just yet.

I sure am looking forward to Glee winning big in the Comedy category! Modern Family may deserve the Outstanding Comedy Series Emmy, but I’m pretty sure Glee will win. Frankly, I’m just thrilled that something other than 30 Rock will take it away this year!

Speaking of 30 Rock, I just hope people other than Alec Baldwin and Tina Fey win in the Outstanding Lead Actor and Actress Comedy categories! I’m so tired of seeing them winning year after year! It’s gotten very predictable. With Modern Family and Glee this year, I hope that changes.

I really hope Julia Louis-Dreyfus wins at least one award for her work in The New Adventures of Old Christine. The show’s cancelled, so this is really her last chance. And speaking of last chances, I sure was surprised that neither America Ferrera nor Vanessa Williams made it to the list this year, for their roles in Ugly Betty. While Ferrera has won before, Williams has got well-deserved nominations for all the previous seasons, but was left out of what was her last chance at winning an Emmy for playing Wilhelmina Slater!

Of course I feel bad that Williams won’t win an Emmy for her role in Ugly Betty, but I sure am looking forward to Jane Lynch holding the golden angel for doing such a fantastic job of portraying Sue Sylvester on Glee. I think she deserves an Emmy for just throwing the kids around (literally) in the hallways of McKinley High!

I’m not looking forward to another year going by with the awesome Neil Patrick Harris not winning Outstanding Supporting Actor Comedy for portraying Barney Stinson so well on How I Met Your Mother. So I pray that the Academy finally gives him his due! And while they’re at it, I hope they reward Jim Parsons, with an Outstanding Lead Actor Comedy, for his outstanding work as Sheldon Cooper on The Big Bang Theory.

I sure am looking forward to the presenters this year. The list reads the who’s who of television today. There will be Claire Danes, Ted Danson (Damages), Emily Deschanel (Bones), Tina Fey (30 Rock), Nathan Fillion (Castle), Laurence Fishburne, Ricky Gervais, Jon Hamm (Mad Men), Mariska Hargitay (Law & Order – Special Victims Unit), Neil Patrick Harris (How I Met Your Mother), January Jones (Mad Men), John Krasinski (The Office), John Lithgow (Dexter), Eva Longoria-Parker (our very own Gaby Solis, from Desperate Housewives), Anna Paquin (True Blood), Jim Parsons (The Big Bang Theory), Jeff Probst (Survivor), Julianna Margulies (The Good Wife), Matthew Morrison (Glee), Matthew Perry (our very own Friends alumnus, set to star as the lead in Mr Sunshine), Keri Russell, Tom Selleck, Alexander Skarsgard, Blair Underwood, Sofia Vergara (Modern Family) and Betty White (Saturday Night Live), among others!

No comments:

Post a Comment